General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I feel like when I call myself a "triathlete" people over-rate me Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-26 10:32 AM

Master
Subject: I feel like when I call myself a "triathlete" people over-rate me

I'm still fairly new to triathlons, having been doing it for less than a year, but I ran marathons fairly seriously for 2-3 years before that and ran shorter races seriously for 20 years before that. I've always considered myself a decent athlete, and in peak marathon season, running 70-100 miles per week, would definitely have considered myself a very serious endurance athlete (albeit without great genetics!) I got some 'cred for the marathon running, but I'm definitely training less intensely now, and I'm surprised at how much 'cred I get for the triathlon thing give my newbness. 

I tell general-public folks I train for triathlons now, and I think I'm vastly over-rated amongst them on first impression. Why?

- They invariably think I'm doing the Kona IM that they see on TV and ask me what I liked best about Hawaii. (LOL)

- They think doing a sprint or olympic triathlon is way physically harder than a racing a marathon. (Not even remotely true, even in the most extreme of circumstances.)

- Most people are terrified of swimming. If you swim more than 1 lap, they are completely amazed, yet if you bike or run for 3 hours, it's "not bad." 

- They think my low-body fat is a result of endless training and hardcore dieting when in fact it's mostly genetic.

- They ask me if I beat J.Lo or Mario Lopez at the Malbu Triathlon. (thankfully, yes.)

Just throwin' it out there on Sat AM!

2009-09-26 10:49 AM
in reply to: #2427452

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
Subject: RE: I feel like when I call myself a "triathlete" people over-rate me
You train for and do triathlons. What else is there in the definition of "triathlete" that you don't meet?