Canadian Triathlon Forum British Columbia » Any suggestions re: best first BC triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2009-10-07 8:42 PM

New user

Vancouver
Subject: Any suggestions re: best first BC triathlon

Hi all,

I am looking to pick my very first triathlon event, for somewhere in BC (I am located in the lower mainland but will travel) not before June, 2010, just so that I have a concrete goal to work toward (I am, at best, a complete newbie).  I am optimistically aiming for an olympic distance event as my first, though I recognize the sense in going first for a sprint, so I would be interested in any thoughts on events involving either distance.

I am not terribly choosy or high-maintenance about what I am looking for. Some of my shopping list of criteria:

1. probably will not have a wetsuit for swimming and I shriek like a small child when exposed to frigid cold water (but I do want an open water swim, not a pool-based event);

2. unless I seriously step up the level of my embezzeling efforts at work, there is the chance that I will be looking to compete on a mountain bike; and

3. most importantly from my perspective, the possibility or perhaps the probability that there will be other wide-eyed confused-looking newbies instead of just seasoned-pros would be really beneficial just from a psych perspective

Other optional criteria (I am a reasonable fellow and prepared to bend on some of these):

4. no huge sharks or man-eating octopi for the swim portion, if possible;
5. an all downhill bike course would be sweet; and of course
6. latte stops strategically placed on the running course.

Any suggestions about which BC sprint or olympic event best suits a timid, cheap, possibly shrieking first-timer? Thanks for any thoughts.

Edited by tbeanerman 2009-10-07 8:45 PM

2009-10-07 8:53 PM
in reply to: #2448745

User image

Subject: RE: Any suggestions re: best first BC triathlon