General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New bike question. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-10-26 9:09 AM

Subject: New bike question.
Hey everyone! So i am doing my first triathalon next summer and my bike is crap so i will be looking to get a new one in the spring. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions of brands that are better than others. Also, are there any particular things that i will FOR SURE want on my bike. I am willing to spend probably around $1000. But i want something that will last for a long time. Thanks! (i am a complete bike newbie so even list the things you think might be obvious).

2009-10-26 1:39 PM
in reply to: #2479355

User image

Regular
East San Francisco Bay Area
Subject: RE: New bike question.
This is tough question to answer but most people here would suggest you head to your Local Bike Shop (LBS) and read them exactly what you wrote. They will let you test ride a couple of options.

You are likely to find some great deals on some year end close-outs. Resist the temptation to buy used (ebay, etc), as a self admitted Noob you will likely need the support of the local shop for tune-ups, sizing, etc. You can get a nice, comfortable, 'entry-level' bike for 1K, but as for brands that depends on what feels comfortable for you.

2009-10-26 2:01 PM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire