General Discussion Triathlon Talk » switching from low carb to low calorie diet Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-12-11 9:02 AM

User image

Regular
Southeastern Louisiana
Subject: switching from low carb to low calorie diet
Hello All, I am new to your sport and I got started as a weight loss program (self initiated, mid life crisis diet). I have been on a low carb plan for the past 4 months, and at the same time I have been running and biking. I have lost 70 lbs (from 328 down to 257) and I have now plataeued. To make my body readjust, I am thinking about switching from a low carb to a low calorie (1200 a day, or thereabouts).
Is there any advantage to this? Will it fool my body into continuing the weight loss? Is it healthy? I have not had any ill affects from the dieting. I have followed a self guided plan, and when I get hungry, I just simply eat that day (no headaches, no upset stomach or anything else). Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to all, Robert

2009-12-11 10:24 AM
in reply to: #2553888

User image

Extreme Veteran
Stoughton, WI
Subject: RE: switching from low carb to low calorie diet
Instead of diets, how about just eating healthy?
1200 calories would be barely a sustinence (sp) level of carbs, without the workouts.
If you are going to SBR, then you'll probably want to be doing somewhere around 2K calories or even more, depending on your frequency and intensity of workouts, and still lose weight.

A few things:

I recommend you read "The ABS diet" for the eating and nutritional education. Doing the workouts is optional, if you continue to SBR.

Second, its going to be awhile before you hit the right number of calories. Its going to be trail and error. Keep a written record.