General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike fit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-12-28 12:41 PM

Subject: Bike fit
I just got aerobars for my roadbike.  Should I just install them where it feels comfortable or should I get them put on and have my bike fitted?  I am signed up for IMLP in July.

Thanks.

Kevin

2009-12-28 1:50 PM
in reply to: #2580321

Subject: RE: Bike fit
Unsure. But wanted to say very good luck to you at your upcoming IM!!

Chad
2009-12-28 3:20 PM

Veteran
Kenosha, WI
Was the road bike a perfect fit before???? 

When it comes to fit its never a bad idea to have a pro look at your position.  Obviously with a IM coming you'll be on the bike a while to say the least, and will want comfort and performance.

Disclaimer... I'm not a pro, just like to wrench on my bike.  Also, I'm short so the distances I have to adjust my bike, tri or roadie are very small; in fact its only a 14mm diffence in seat position, so I have not spent the extra money to purchased a tri bike, but my fit on the road bike is very areo/tri dispite the bikes geo. because of my size and the tweaks I've made.  Also, I learned most of my positions from slowtwich.com's bike fit section, so its hardly science.

Generally speaking road fit and tri fit aren't that much different in terms of your body positioning relative to your hip angle, but the seat position in relationship to the crank or bottom bracket changes what would be ideal hip angle a bunch if you go aero on a road bike.   This is gonna be a rough discription but hopefully its clear enough to follow.