General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Upstate New York newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-07 8:25 PM

Albany, NY
Subject: Upstate New York newbie
Hey everybody! I've just started looking into all of this tri- stuff. It looks like a lot of fun. I've been looking for a way to keep in shape in chilly Saratoga, being a transplant from Hawaii. For a little bit of background info, I just finished an MA in Chinese and am jumping into the "real" world of job-hunting. I feel like I'm in ok shape, but I've never done any serious training. If anyone else is from the area, let me know any good trails, spots to swim, etc.

2005-06-08 8:38 PM
in reply to: #170762

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: Upstate New York newbie
welcome...not from saratoga though...(ohio)...hope the training and job hunting goes well....fun times those are...
2005-06-09 9:38 AM

Hey and welcome! I'm fairly new to this whole tri thing too. Just restarted training last week now that things have settled down a bit with the new baby. I'm in Rochester, not too far from Saratoga but not exactly next door either. Good luck with your training and goals.
2005-06-09 10:00 AM

User image

Veteran
West Henrietta, NY
I'm new too, also in Rochester. I was born and raised here so the weather doesn't bother me much. During the really cold and snowy months I move inside to the treadmill, the pool and the weight room. I'm still looking for a nice outdoor swim area but I have time as my stroke isn't that great now. I generally run in the mornings as it's usually much cooler. As of now I bike in the afternoons as the heat doesn't bother me as much while riding as it does while running.

Good luck to you.

Chris.
2005-06-18 8:17 PM

User image

Champion
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Gold member

Hey, all...I'm actually in Michigan, but moved here a couple years ago from Rochester.  Couple things that might be good resources to you: