General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Critique my ridiculously simple training plan Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-09 6:33 PM

Subject: Critique my ridiculously simple training plan
I've read a number of training plans on this and other sites, as well as a few of the "newbie" tri-books. I'm SURE they are all good, and that they work, and that they are based on experience and science. However, my brain has trouble being that organized about things!

I'm 43, with a full time job, a side business, a big family, and limited training time, so I need to keep things super simple and memorable. My goals are to simply stay in good shape, enjoy the cross-training aspect that tri's offer, be happy as a FOBOP'er, yet still be able to comfortably finish Olympic distances.

Since I'm a beginner (just did my first sprint on June 5) I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there's anything drastically wrong with a simple training plan such as this:

Sun: Bike (I would do a long ride either Sat or Sun, the other day completely off)
Mon: Swim (because on Mondays I can join a group that does open water swims)
Tue: Run
Wed: Bike
Thu: Swim
Fri: Run
Sat: REST

Then I would just vary the intensity/distance/time of each workout depending on how I feel and how close I am to a race day. Yes I realize there are no brick workouts in there but I didn't do any before my sprint race and it wasn't a big deal. If I was out to win my age group then fine, I would add them but that's not a concern.

Any ideas/thoughts to tweak it to be a little better but still keep it simple simple simple???

2005-06-09 6:42 PM
in reply to: #172168

User image

Champion
Williamston, Michigan
Subject: RE: Critique my ridiculously simple training plan