General Discussion Triathlon Talk » footwear, transitions, clipless...help? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-05 1:13 PM

User image

molto veloce mama
Subject: footwear, transitions, clipless...help?
i searched through the archives here and found several questions and responses on this topic, but i couldn't get a sense for what most people do. i've been riding clipless for about 10 years, so i would prefer to go that route, but i'm not sure if that is standard or not. the race i am doing is a short course, and i am doing it with the goal of finishing, so saving lots of time isn't a big deal to me. so...

who uses toe clips and running shoes? why?

who uses clipless pedals? why? how do you make the transition from bike shoes to running shoes?

anyone ever do a tri in chacos?

2004-04-05 1:17 PM
in reply to: #16526

Champion
Subject: RE: footwear, transitions, clipless...help?
I'm going to do a Duathlon on Saturday. Start in running shoes, change to my Sidi bike shoes for the 10 mile bike, then back to running shoes for the 3rd leg. I'm so used to clipless pedals that I feel much more comfortable with them than using standard pedals with toe clips and running shoes. Even for a short event, I think the time spent changing shoes would be offset by my feeling faster and more comfortable on the bike with the clipless.

Max
2004-04-05 2:50 PM

User image

Expert
Mount Vernon, Iowa
I did my first tri with toe clips, then switched to clipless and it's much better. Practice cycling and running without socks (lots of baby powder helps), get elastic laces for the running shoes, practice getting in and out of your cycling shoes while they're attached to your bike, rehearse your transitions, etc. It takes a little extra practice but it's worth it.

Edited by CLLinIA 2004-04-05 2:50 PM
2004-04-05 3:08 PM

User image

Master
Berkeley, CA