General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I am terrible on the bike....HELP Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-02-28 12:58 PM

User image

New user

Subject: I am terrible on the bike....HELP

I'm new to the sport and I'm already addicted! The problem is that I suck on the bike. I am a strong runner/swimmer, but people are passing me left and right on the bike. It's so frustrating. I currently have a cheap hybrid bike. Does type of bike really make much of a difference? I was looking at tri-bikes and some are thousands of dollars! Or do I just need to train harder on the bike? Please help =(

2010-02-28 1:09 PM
in reply to: #2698116

User image

Expert
Palm Springs, California
Subject: RE: I am terrible on the bike....HELP
This column makes a strong case that proper position on a road bike is perfectly adequate for shorter tris: http://iamspecialized.com/triathlon/rider/jordan-rapp/752/#/blog...you can see that an aggressive tuck is quite aerodynamic; it'll make a huge difference in speed over an upright comfort position.

My advice is always to spend time on club rides - they make the miles go by at a fast clip, and build your skills and fitness. If you don't have experience in the tuck and hill climbing on a machine that's built for it, you'll pick up quite a bit of speed once you spend a few weeks on it.

2010-02-28 1:12 PM

Master
Just keep at it. At this point, what you really need is time in the saddle, and lots of it. It just takes time to build endurance, speed, and to toughen up your legs. Make sure you vary your riding with some long rides and some shorter rides where the focus is more on speed.