General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tires and Wheels? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-04-26 9:45 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Tires and Wheels?
I am in need of some new tires.  I ride a Felt s32 that's about 4 years old.  Its a 54cm and I am 162 lbs.  I am fairly new to tri but LOVE to go fast..LOL...what do you guys ride...i am pretty sure my wheels are stock...so i might look into a wheel tire combo that is going to give me some weight savings...so help a brother out and give me some suggestions.  thanks!

2010-04-26 9:55 PM
in reply to: #2818518

User image

Master
Subject: RE: Tires and Wheels?
waterboy42 - 2010-04-26 9:45 PM I am in need of some new tires.  I ride a Felt s32 that's about 4 years old.  Its a 54cm and I am 162 lbs.  I am fairly new to tri but LOVE to go fast..LOL...what do you guys ride...i am pretty sure my wheels are stock...so i might look into a wheel tire combo that is going to give me some weight savings...so help a brother out and give me some suggestions.  thanks!

That all depends.  Are you looking for training tires or racing tires?  Are your road conditions crappy? 

You have many, many choices.  If you want flatproof tires, then Armadillos or Gatorskins are what you want.  Pretty heavy for races, though. 

Race tires - you are looking for low Crr tires (i.e. buying speed).  Good listing here: http://www.biketechreview.com/tires_old/images/AFM_tire_testing_rev... .  I searched through that list and ended up buying a couple of the new Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX tires.

Good old everyday training tires?  Something cheap like Vittoria Zaffiro IIs are low cost and hold up well (and ~$15 shipped from ProBikeKit with discount codes).
2010-04-27 12:51 AM
in reply to: #2818538

User image

Sensei
Sin City