United States
40F / 4C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 32m 59s
Overall Rank = 136/975
Age Group = M50-54
Age Group Rank = 7/47
Pre-race routine:

I brought my own food from home and had my normal breakfast.
Event warmup:

Only had about a half mile of warmup due to lack of time.
Run
  • 3h 32m 59s
  • 26.2 miles
  • 08m 08s  min/mile
Comments:

I had done this race twice before. My last race here was my marathon PR – 3:26:20 - and my first time qualifying for Boston. After my unsatisfactory race in Boston last year I wanted to qualify again and maybe go back to Boston to see what I'm capable of when fully healthy.

I started training for this race way back in September. My focus was to build up substantial volume and hold it for several months, then work on speed and long runs in the month or so preceding the race. During the eight months leading up to the race I ran over 2300 miles, with a peak week of slightly over 100 miles. As is my norm, I also raced frequently and set several new PRs along the way. In other races I set new personal course bests in almost every race. Despite the generally lousy weather I managed to have decent long runs with closing miles at or near race pace. My speedwork went well. Based on all this, I was fully expecting to set a new PR. I was thinking somewhere between 3:15-3:20.