General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Planning to run my first Sprint...in VFFs (with problems) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-05-14 3:29 AM
in reply to: #2855406

User image

Regular
Subject: RE: Planning to run my first Sprint...in VFFs (with problems)
Here's my take on barefoot running:

With the environment that most of us have to train in, running barefoot all the time is often impractical and can be risky (think stepping on something and hurting yourself and having to lay off training)

That being said, I think it can be a powerful tool if you use it correctly. I sometimes do drills and short sprint intervals barefoot on the grass because it forces me to use good form.

Unless I'm on a long run, I have a forefoot strike due to my time as a sprinter in high school (I had an excellent coach who drilled good form into our heads :D ) It all depends on how fast I'm moving.

Now I'm no expert, but I think the biggest problem with barefoot running is when people go out for the first time and try to put in too many miles. My philosophy is to run as far as is comfortable barefoot and then build up from there (I only made it 1/2 mile the first time, and I was plenty sore just from that).

2010-05-14 5:23 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2010-05-14 7:18 AM
in reply to: #2858153

Expert

But he doesn't want opinions on whether it is wrong or right PennState.  Even if it does come from a doctor, like you.

His thread title is "Planning to run my first Sprint...in VFF's (with problems)."

If he wants to run with problems, then let him have at it!

2010-05-14 8:53 AM
in reply to: #2856507

Champion
Philly 'burbs
iluvmybeamer - 2010-05-13 12:35 PM

I'm his wife & training partner.

so his name is beamer?
2010-05-14 9:18 AM

Tampa