View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Hammond (Northwest Indiana), Indiana
United States
Total Time = 2h 35m 12s
Overall Rank = 113/210
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Woke up way too early. Very easy to set up transition, as there weren't a lot of participants. Hung around a lot, went for an easy warm-up swim. Port-a-potty, of course.
Swim
  • 29m 20s
  • 1640 yards
  • 01m 47s / 100 yards
Comments:

Very interesting swim. Mass start, since there were probably less than 250 starters (only 210 finishers). (I've never done a mass start before! It made it very easy to gauge the other racers during the rest of the race.)

Slight chop heading away from the start, with a tall utility tower and a lead boat to sight. Coming back was challenging: worse chop, heading into the sun, nothing to sight. The buoys were beer kegs, which are just too low to the water to see well.
What would you do differently?:

I enjoyed the swim overall. Maybe do more open water training.
Transition 1
  • 01m 57s
Comments:

Quick transition. Slight delay getting out of wetsuit, though nothing terrible. Shoes already clipped into bike.

This triathlon had a very fair set-up for the transition, in which all racers had to run the same distance, regardless of their spot in transition.

Nothing.
Bike
  • 1h 09m 29s
  • 24.4 miles
  • 21.07 mile/hr
Comments:

Fun course, though the wind was a real factor. As it was coming out of the west-northwest, the south-bound and especially east-bound portions were GREAT. 25-28 mph on these stretches. Heading west-bound was challenging, but at least interesting.

Train more, of course, but I was happy with my performance overall. I don't have a particularly "aero" set-up (aero bars on a Cannondale SystemSix road bike), and I think the most aero cyclists did better. I also used the Speedfil frame-mounted drinking system: awesome.
Transition 2
  • 02m 19s
Comments: