General Discussion Triathlon Talk » newbe looking for advice on marineland tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-07 2:50 PM

Subject: newbe looking for advice on marineland tri
First im from the chicago area and signed up for a half ironman during labor day. My training is going pretty well, but i have never done a tri before and know that i have to do a few smaller ones before the labor day half. Anyway we are going camping in St Augustine and I found a sprint and olympic distance on 6/20 called marineland. Has anyone done this? I will be drivine approx twenty hours leaving fri and with a stopover getting in sat night. I know its a little crazy after all that driving to do a tri the next morning but the schedule fits. I just might be a little tired afterwards. Btw i will be there from 6/19-27. Anyone have any group rides going on.

thanks,

mike

2010-06-07 3:50 PM
in reply to: #2906087

Subject: RE: newbe looking for advice on marineland tri
Hi Mike,

I live in St. Aug and have been to this race as a spectator; I only did my first tri last weekend. It is a pretty small race. We went to the first in the series, early in the season and still a little cool out. That may account for the small turnout.

The one we watched, the ocean was like glass; not sure if that's the break (lack of break) there or if it was just perfect conditions. The bike ride and run are both out and back on A1A along the ocean; no shade, but very minimal traffic early on a Sunday morning. I did notice that several folks were confused about the entrance/exit from the transition area and the finish line and were asking us where they were supposed to be going. There were not many volunteers to help out and it was not timed by chip.

It is a lovely location, and if you don't mind a smaller, low key race, I'd recommend it, just be sure to get there with plenty of time to orient yourself to the entry/exit points of the transition area.