General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sore Hamstrings Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-07-06 11:00 AM

Subject: Sore Hamstrings
I just started training for a 5k in preperation for an eventual triathlon. I am at stage 1. I began a running regime last week, and after my last run (july 4) my hamstring is still a little sore. I am in pretty good health, not really overweight, but I have not run in a long time. I took the 5th off, and am contemplating taking today off even though I am supposed to run. Should I run today, or take an extra day for my sore hamstring to go away?

Thanks

2005-07-06 11:17 AM
in reply to: #191372

User image

Champion
Fairport, NY
Subject: RE: Sore Hamstrings
The thing to avoid isn't soreness or pain, it's injury.

If the hamstring is just a little sore, a workout might be the best thing for it. If you're in pain, skip it.  Try going out for the run and see how it feels. If it bothers you, you can always walk for a while or end the workout. As you train more, you'll get a better idea of when to adjust the intensity and when to replace a workout with rest.
2005-07-06 11:45 AM

User image

The Original
Raleigh/Durham
Sometimes when I'm sore I like to do a SLOW EASY run to loosen up my sore muscles.  Stretching makes a difference for me.  It's normal to feel "sore" especially if you're first starting out.  But if it's pain, I would lay off.  Once you are into your training more, you'll know your body and will be able to tell if it's just soreness or pain. 
2005-07-06 11:48 AM

I am pretty sure it is just soreness, but other than my calves, nothing else is sore. It does not hamper walking, it just hurts a little. I will try going on a leisurely run to see if it helps. Thanks for the advice.

I cannot find a good stretch for the hamstring. When i bend and touch my toes, it feels like i am stretching my calves. any suggestions?
2005-07-06 12:00 PM