General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hello to my fellow Athenas! I'm new here... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-15 9:30 PM

Subject: Hello to my fellow Athenas! I'm new here...
Hi! I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I am a complete tri newbie, and at a size 22, well - obviously this is my board! LOL 

I've always been a swimmer and after having my last baby (I have two kids) I decided it was time to get back into shape. I was swimming a .5 mile 5-6 days a week when one of the swimmers at the gym said I should try a triathlon. I laughed in her face, but she convinced me I could do it!

So I jumped in with two feet but now I am sort of freaking out. I bought the "slow fat triathlete" book and it is definitely helping, but I am really looking for some support from people who are also not at their ideal weight.

Can I do this? I have 12 weeks until my triathlon. I start the couch to 5k this week. I finally have a bike and will start training on that as well this week or next. I am terrified of both falling flat on my face on the bike, and also of hurting a knee or ankle running at this weight.

Also I feel sort of stupid because I have no knowledge of all the gear I need or if I can just go simple the first time around. Will I look dumb if I don't have all the right stuff? I figure I have 12 weeks to figure out what to wear, right? I don't have to have the right stuff for training?

Gah, so much to think about! My goal is simply to finish, hopefully not last.

2010-06-15 10:02 PM
in reply to: #2924290

User image

New user
Alpharetta
Subject: RE: Hello to my fellow Athenas! I'm new here...
No one will think you're dumb. Triathletes are some of the most supportive and friendly people you will meet.