Viking Biking Club
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 8h 41m 35s
Overall Rank = 1/inf
Age Group = studs 25-29
Age Group Rank = 1/inf
Pre-race routine:

Woke up 2 hours before the ride, but got to the site right when it was starting. Traffic was bad heading into the parking lot so that delayed me a lot. It wasn't a race so it didn't matter. I got my bib number, put about a gallon of sunscreen on and all the food I could carry in my pockets (I didn't realize they would offer food at rest stops) and rolled out a little over a half hour after the start time.
Event warmup:

Took the first hour very easy. Tried to hold back as long as possible.
Bike
  • 8h 41m 35s
  • 124.27 miles
  • 14.30 mile/hr
Comments:

I'm just happy I finished. I started training for this ride, oh, four weeks beforehand. I jumped up to 150 miles per week in order to crash train, and spent weekends doing back-to-back long rides. My longest one was 70 miles, but I did several on the HHH course in order to get used to climbing. Finally after a couple weeks of abuse my knee came down with some serious tendonitis. My knee could last about 30 miles and then I couldn't turn a crank. Turns out I have been training with a 21-tooth cassette in the back. Stupid me. I rested as much as I could before the ride but decided to go out and start the ride and call the sag wagon when my leg died on me.

On race day the best I could do for gearing was a 23. I thought I had a 25 lying around somewhere but I guess I was wrong. That's not a good start. I started the ride late and took it pretty easy for as long as I could. For every climb I went straight to the easiest gear even if it wasn't necessary. I wasn't going to put my knee under any unnecessary stress. After about 25 or 30 miles I caught up to lots of riders and my competitive nature kicked in and I started pushing more, especially on uphills and downhills where I could pass people pretty easily. So, that was some short-lived restraint I guess.