General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Are knee issues inevitable? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-29 1:20 PM

User image

Champion
Alabama
Subject: Are knee issues inevitable?
Are knee issues inevitable if you run/bike long enough? 

I've been doing tris and running for about 12 years (11 years mostly injury free) and last year I was doing a local sprint and the run was partially on a trail and I tore my meniscus in my left knee.  When the doc did the ortho thing he found that the cartiledge was frayed some and cleaned that up while he was in there.  That knee is now great!  But now I've injurred the other knee.....going in for an MRI later this week.

So for you 'older' folks who have been running for many years, do you have knee issues? 

I heard some people say that, if you run long enough, you will eventually have knee issues.  I've also heard that this is hogwash and that some folks run their entire lives and never have knee issues.  What do y'all think?

~Mike

2010-06-29 1:26 PM
in reply to: #2951017

User image

Extreme Veteran
Olathe
Subject: RE: Are knee issues inevitable?

Does 33 count for "older"??  It does at my work, anyway...

Knock on wood I've only had patella tendon issues, minor IT band, some calf issues but nothing requiring surgery or doctor care.

My vote is for it all depends on the person.  If you body structure is such that you are predispositioned to some conditions, you can try and counter it with orthotics and other methods but you can only put it off for so long.

Some people just don't have problems and run like a machine.  Like the 50 and 60 something's that I get passed by every once in a while at a 1/2 marathon or 10k.

Just take care of what you got with stretching, massage, and rest... at least that's my plan.

2010-06-29 1:29 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Hattiesburg