General Discussion Race Reports! » Philadelphia Triathlon in Fairmount Park - Sprint Distance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Philadelphia Triathlon in Fairmount Park - Sprint Distance - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
United States
Philadelphia Triathlon, LLC
87F / 31C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 48m 52s
Overall Rank = 611/1335
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 72/133
Pre-race routine:

Can you call it "routine" if it's my first time?
This was my very first race, so I think I might have overdone it with the pre-race prep.

Woke up early, packed the car. Ate a bagel w/ cream cheese on the way to the race. Ate a banana about 30 min before my start.
Set up my transition area, and tried to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. I knew it was supposed to be a hot day ahead.
Event warmup:

They opened up the swim course about 30 min before the race. I got in and did maybe 300m warm up. I really wanted to do a little running to warm up, but they closed the transition area, so I couldn't go out, and it was way too crowded inside.
So instead I spent maybe 15 minutes stretching. I think I wasn't properly warmed up when I started.
Swim
  • 19m 41s
  • 900 meters
  • 02m 11s / 100 meters
Comments:

The water temp was probably more like 82-83, but I think the officials fudged it a little so they could eliminate wetsuits.

For the swim, this was my strong suit, but I swore up and down that I'd take it easy off the gun to not burn myself out.
So we start swimming, it's not as crowded as I was expecting. There were a few bumps, and on one stroke I accidentally punched a guy in the ass. Sorry.

After a bit the bumping got less and less, so I did a little breaststroke and looked back, and much to my surprise, I had pulled way ahead, to the front 25% of the group.

From there, I just tried to keep going. Pull-pull, breath, repeat.