Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » Moving to Ottawa for 2 months Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-11 9:20 PM

User image

Veteran
Ottawa
Subject: Moving to Ottawa for 2 months
Hi there.

I am currently in Sask. being transferred to Ottawa from the end of July until the end of September.

This is my first year doing triathlons. So far I have 2 sprint tris, 1 sprint duathlon, and 1 half-marathon under my belt this summer. One of my goals was to also do an Oly this summer so I am looking at one in Brockville in August.

Anyhoo, my question is about training in Ottawa. I am not familiar with the city/area at all. Where is a good place to get in some OWS? What about cycling? I don't like cycling in traffic. Are there highways that are good for long rides or do people generally go on bike trails in the city? Here in Sask I typically go on highways with nice shoulders, but the city isn't very bike friendly and it's not  very big so you would have to loop around it a couple of times to get in a long ride.

Any info you could provide me with is very much appreciated! I am moving in 1.5 weeks - yikes!

2010-07-12 6:03 AM
in reply to: #2974185

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Moving to Ottawa for 2 months
Hopefully someone actually in ottawa will answer.  I have never lived there but I love the city and my mum's family is there so I've been up that way a lot.  I believe you can practice open water swimming in Dow's lake (sp?) but that might close earlier in the summer due to water quality.  There are likely some places on the Ottawa river that you can swim or over in gatineau.  As for cycling, the city shuts down a bunch of the roads to automobiles on I believe Sunday's so the roads are just for cyclists, runners, etc.  I think Ottawa is generally a very cycling friendly city. 

You could probably go to a LBS when you arrive and get the details on the best biking areas.