General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I'm torn Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-12 9:46 AM

User image

Veteran
Chicago suburbs
Subject: I'm torn
So, I've been working on getting healthy for 18 months and have come a long way (down 130 lbs). I set myself a goal to run a 5k which I did in May. I finished in 41:38. I then decided that, instead of just more running, I wanted to look into tris and signed up for a mini Sprint 250/6.2 miles/2.1 miles in August. Training has been going well except my running speed is still terrible. So here's why im torn. With vacation schedule, etc it looks like i will not have many options to do a tri After the one in August. I see some options but one that stands out is a Sprint Tri the week before the one I'm already signed up for. I KNOW I can complete the distance but just not sure if it's too much to do a full Sprint first and a week later do a mini sprint. I would not have done this order had I mapped it out better in advance but I'm thinking I'll be disappointed if I only get one in this year. So, what do you think? My logs are current as of mid June when I joined the site and I've been consistent on bike and run at least since April. I'm a decent swimmer my whole life and have gotten several in (including one ows) and will get several more in the next few weeks. So, what say you? Go for it? Or too much too soon? Appreciate your thoughts.

2010-07-12 10:33 AM
in reply to: #2974825

User image

Expert
Las Vegas, NV
Subject: RE: I'm torn
First off, congrats on your weight loss! That's awesome. Saw from your logs that you have been biking with your kids. You've done them a great favor by getting healthy so you can be active with them.