Canadian Triathlon Forum Alberta » Training in Sherwood Park Alberta Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-14 4:17 PM

User image

Sherwood Park, AB Canada
Subject: Training in Sherwood Park Alberta
Anyone know of any Triathlon training programs available in Sherwood Park, Alberta? I'm new to competing and need to find a place to start.

2010-07-14 8:47 PM
in reply to: #2981406

User image

Veteran
outskirts of town
Subject: RE: Training in Sherwood Park Alberta
Hey there! Welcome to Sherwood Park!

There are actually a couple of clubs I'm aware of. I did some training with the Mission 3 group. They are a good group of people and very supportive. I'm not sure what they're doing this year, but last year the majority of them were getting ready for IM Canada. Google True Form Fitness, and that might get you a link. Call (780) 902-8182.

The other group is the Ironwill group run by Gail Flint. Try [email protected]. I haven't trained with them, but I see them in the pool all the time, and I'm always getting emails for all their training sessions.

Good luck, and if you ever want somebody to run or ride with, give me a shout.

jelly
2010-07-15 1:23 AM

User image

Sherwood Park, Ab
Welcome to the Park...

I love it here but I haven't found a dedicated "group" to train with. Last winter I took a class through Millennium Centre - Strength Training/Cycling and I found it to be very helpful for the transitions and fat burn. 

I'm going to sign up to that and possibly the swim portion again this winter.

Bout it.

What are you goals right now? I just did my first Sprint earlier in the summer and next year I hope to do an Olympic.  
2010-07-15 3:29 PM
in reply to: #2982056

User image

Sherwood Park, AB Canada
Hey there!

I'm familiar with the programs at Millennium, but I haven't really got involved in any. I'm a little intimidated, not knowing where I would fit in with the rest of the group. But, I know that if I want to get anywhere, I'll need to give it a go.