Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-07-15 10:06 PM
in reply to: #2983255

User image

Expert
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Subject: RE: Training Because You're Mental
Oh, this is such a good thread.  I am not a lifelong depressive, but have dealt with several depressive "episodes."  I have medicated twice on small doses for short periods of time, and am very thankful for anti-depressants.  I am a classic "ruminator" (I worry and think too much about crap that I can't change...working on this).  NOTHING, and I mean NOTHING (in big screaming CAPS) beats exercise.  Outside, in or near the water is best.  HELLO triathlon.  Physical activity in any form is better than nothing.  I've been tip-top since I started training for a half-mary last year (the cross training requirement landed me in this madhouse...and I LOVE it!!!).  One of the reasons I am addicted to triathlon is the ability to keep training in the face of an injury that shuts one sport down.  Ya can't keep me on the couch beyotches!!!

A couple of interesting reads for y'all:  A woman who was facing suicide finds running.  And a recent post on openwaterchicago.com about the benefits of exercise in or near water...

I know there is more, but these were the two that came to mind when I read this thread... 

Great topic.  Carryon! 

2010-07-17 9:46 PM

User image

On your right

This fits me very well also.  When I was young, (before middle school) sports were really not part of my life.  When my father was young, he wasn't good at sports and his dad would smack him around because of it.  Fast forward to my childhood, and my dad still has his aversion to sports.  I took Karate for a number of years, and was actually scheduled for my black belt test when my parents divorced.  They both quit karate, and as a result, I didn't get to go anymore either (so no black belt test after all). 

Anyhow.