General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The Skinny Person's Saddle Plight Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-16 7:50 AM

Subject: The Skinny Person's Saddle Plight

I'm sure I'm not the only one on here with the problem of being born too skinny.  Aside from the ridiculousness of finding jeans to fit (31waist, 34 inseam???), there's the problem of the stock seat on my CAAD9 being hard as a rock.  That, coupled with the fact that my bony caboose provides no natural padding, makes anything over a 10-15 mile ride about as comfortable as sitting on a splintered 2x4 with nails sticking out.  Since I'm relatively new to cycling I am throwing this question out there...what kind of saddles do you other skinny folks ride?  I'm looking for one that provides more cushioning than than the stock one, but without being bulky and intrusive.

I know I'll end up having to go to my LBS to check them out...I'm just trying to compile a short list.

2010-07-16 1:17 PM
in reply to: #2984615

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: The Skinny Person's Saddle Plight

Unlike lounge chairs, I believe that the studies show that a softer saddle isn't really the most comfortable choice.  It's more the shape.

there are a thousand saddles out there.  I personally prefer the ones with a hole down the center such as a Selle Italia SLR, although there are hundreds of those.

I went through a fair amount of pain for the 1st 6 weeks of riding.  Then slowly- things don't hurt that much any more.  If you're new at the sport- give it some time.  You'll break in your butt eventually.

2010-07-16 1:26 PM

Haha I'll try to stick it out and pray for callouses!  The stock saddle that's on there is pretty cheap so I'll likely end up upgrading anyways eventually (I figure over time I'll be making tweaks like that to personalize the ride a bit more).

Who knew that making the switch from just being a runner to being a triathlete would be suck a pain in the butt!