General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » California Newbie Triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-21 3:35 PM

SoCal
Subject: California Newbie Triathlete

Hey folks.

I'm relatively new to triathlons, having only started doing them this year.  I have the Pasadena Triathlon (sprint) and the Strawberry Fields Triathlon (sprint) under my belt so far and am doing the Pacific Coast Triathlon (sprint) in September.

I'm looking to doing 4 or 5 triathlons next year and most likely ending the next year with two Olympic-length triathlons.  Also considering a 70.3 Ironman, but the only local one is in April 2011 (Oceanside) which may be a bit early, especially considering that I wouldn't even have done an Olympic-length triathlon yet.  Any thoughts on that? 

Longer term goal is to do a full Ironman in 2012.  Possibly half-marathon or a full marathon somewhere in between as a part of the training regimen (though in all honesty, I do not enjoy running but only put up with it because it's a part of the triathlon). 

I'd actually love to do a full Ironman at the end of 2011 (Tempe) but am not sure if that is being too ambitious. I'm in relatively good shape, especially as I've been training for the sprints for a while now (I think I am good enough to do a sprint off the couch, but would be hurting if I tried that with an Olympic).  Would love to hear some thoughts on this too!

Thanks, and I look forward to learning a lot from this site!

2010-07-21 4:39 PM
in reply to: #2995594

User image

Master
Westlake Village , Ca.
Subject: RE: California Newbie Triathlete
Welcome to BT!

There is nothing set in stone that says you have to complete one distance to move to the next. However, it does help to have experience when moving to longer events. Just make sure your training is calibrated to the event you want to do. April is plenty of time to get ready for a 70.3 if that is something you would like to do.