General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training Plan Help (Don Fink Competitive Program) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-21 10:40 PM

Subject: Training Plan Help (Don Fink Competitive Program)
For my first 2 ironmans in 04/05 I used a plan developed by a coach I had paid to create a 1 time plan for my wife and I.  I am now looking at the Don Fink Competitive program and have a question about lining it up with my work schedule.  I don't think either plan is necessarily better, I just wanted to try the Fink plan since it seems like a lot of people here are using it and it would be good for a change.

I am a firefighter so I work 1 24 hour shift on, then 2 days off, then another 24 hour shift, then 4 days off.  The schedule just repeats itself.  I want to create an 8 day week based on this schedule, so then instead of having Monday through Sunday weeks I have a week composed of my schedule (lines up with when the kids are home with me etc.)

So my question is, how do I line this up with Fink's plan?  One thought I have is to map the workouts from the book into my new week, and just stretch the plan out (30 - 8 day weeks instead of 30 - 7 day weeks in the plan).  Another option would be to add 1 more workout to keep the monthly volume more in line with his plan.  Here is how I mapped it so far (for the highest volume week, zones not listed):

Fink Plan:
Mon: rest
Tues: 1 hr swim, 1 hr run
Weds: 1 hr bike, 30 min run (brick)
Thurs: 1 hr swim, 1:30 bike
Fri: 1 hr swim, 1:30 run
Sat: 6 hr bike, 1 hr run (brick) - Long Bike session
Sun: 1:30 bike, 3 hr run (brick) - Long Run session

My Plan
Work1: 1 hr bike, 30 min run (brick)
Off: 1:30bike, 3 hr run (brick)
Off: 1 hr swim, 1 hr run
Work2: 1:30 bike
Off: 6 hr bike, 1hr run (brick)
Off: 1 hr swim, 1:30 run
Off: 1 hr swim, 1:30 run
Off: Rest