General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What is the advantage to compete in Athena? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-05 3:58 PM

New user

Subject: What is the advantage to compete in Athena?
Hello - I am new to the Triathlon scene.  I have somewhat of a unique situation; I am a fast swimmer, ok biker, and fairly fast runner and finished my first tri competitively in the "regular" division.  However, I am almost 170 lbs.  I don't THINK you would be able to tell my looking at me (I am a little more muscular than most women).  What is the advantage to competing is the Athena division?  Is it less competitive?  More so?  Any input is greatly appreciated.  THANK YOU!

2010-08-05 6:09 PM
in reply to: #3026042

User image

Pro
Without house
Subject: RE: What is the advantage to compete in Athena?
Depends on who races that day, just as it does with your AG.

The Athena group tends to be smaller, but they put all ages together (or maybe split it into 2 groups...39 & under and over 40).  The advantage is not having to compete against those who have less mass to move (who are, generally speaking, going to be faster if simply because they are light on their feet...but this isn't always the case, obviously.)

The advantage is competing against other Athenas.  You're going to have a hodgepodge...from those who are more than 150 due to being overweight to others who can't weigh less than 150 without getting rid of an appendage or 2.  Some of Athenas will be wicked fast and you'll have your work cut out for you.

So, really...it all goes back to who shows up that day.
2010-08-06 8:18 AM
in reply to: #3026292

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member

What she said is true.