General Discussion Triathlon Talk » buying a bike this weekend and i have some basic noob questions? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-06 8:22 AM

User image

Veteran
Perry, Missouri
Subject: buying a bike this weekend and i have some basic noob questions?

i am planing on buying a beginner road bike, either a trek 1.2 or specialiezed allez sport double

Question #1, are these good choices or is there a better bike for the price?

Question #2, are these bikes good for tri events?

Statement#1 sorry for being a noob but i was just going to make sure with the pro's before i buy

2010-08-06 8:50 AM
in reply to: #3027024

User image

Sherwood Park, Ab
Subject: RE: buying a bike this weekend and i have some basic noob questions?
I am by no means a pro...

Do you have a bike currently?

Why do you need a bike?

How much/often are you going to ride it?

Have you considered the additional costs of the required gear (helmet, riding shorts, gloves, shoes, pedals, road repair kit, lights, better seat, etc?)

Have you considered getting a used bike?

If you plan on buying new make sure you take your time at the shop and that the tech at the shop fits you properly on a bike. You need to feel comfortable sitting/riding on it before you say "I'll buy it." There are plenty of extra things that a person can purchase at the time of the sale which can/will inflate the price significantly. Make sure you include those items in your budget.

Both of those bikes are fine but it really will come down to how much/often you'll ride.

2010-08-06 9:01 AM
in reply to: #3027088

User image

Veteran
Perry, Missouri
bonafide - 2010-08-06 8:50 AM I am by no means a pro...

Do you have a bike currently?

Why do you need a bike?

How much/often are you going to ride it?

Have you considered the additional costs of the required gear (helmet, riding shorts, gloves, shoes, pedals, road repair kit, lights, better seat, etc?)

Have you considered getting a used bike?