Premier Event Management
80F / 27C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 19m 32s
Overall Rank = 372/1593
Age Group = 20-24
Age Group Rank = 36/65
Pre-race routine:

About two month ago I heard a friend talking about a Triathlon. Having just graduated college I had the time on my hands and it seemed like something that I might enjoy. The Naperville Sprint seemed like an obvious choice as my first triathlon and as I will later detail in this report, the execution of this race was flawless. Naperville has this down to a science. I have been training for about two months. I have run 5ks before, but nothing like this and after a lot of thorough training which included an even mix of bike, run, and swim I was ready for today. About 3 weeks ago I injured myself while training for running and since that injury I have been letting my foot heal while working on my swimming (which you will later see didn't really matter) and cycling.

For my night before dinner I made a nice hearty meal of Macaroni and Cheese. Had a few bottles of water throughout the night and went to bed feeling good. I was anxious and it was difficult to fall asleep, but I did manage to get about 5 hours of rest in. I woke up at 3:30 AM and ate two bowls of Wheaties Fuel (Yum). I was kind of hungry and I knew that I still had four hours before I would be entering the water, so 2 bowls was OK on my stomach. I embarked on my hour drive to Naperville around 4:15 AM. With over 2,000 competitors I knew that parking was going to be a mess and I wanted to be there early. I ended up arriving about 2 hours before the start and was glad that I went so early.
Event warmup:

My goal for my first triathlon was to finish under 1:30:00.