Y-Events
65F / 18C
Overcast
Total Time = 2h 24m 37s
Overall Rank = 931/983
Age Group = M35-39
Age Group Rank = 105/108
Pre-race routine:

Woke up at 5:00 am, peanut butter on toast and a banana, cup of very weak hotel-room coffee, quick shower to get the blood moving. Family and I headed out at 6:00 am on the nose, we arrived at Camp Pendleton at around 6:20 and parked at around 6:50.
Event warmup:

Since I'm still relatively new to triathlons, I tend to spend a lot of time checking and re-checking my transition set-up and I usually don't leave myself a lot of time to warm up. I did have a chance to wade into the water a bit just to get a sense of the temperature.
Swim
  • 20m 55s
  • 500 yards
  • 04m 11s / 100 yards
Comments:

This was my first ocean swim and it was my biggest concern of this triathlon. And my concerns were well-founded, because the waves were tough and the current was strong. I was in the 4th wave, and I felt sorry for the guys in the 1st wave -- by the time they were halfway to the first buoy, the current had pushed everyone right between the two buoys. So I was thankful to learn from that, but also fearful of having to fight that current. I struggled just to get out beyond the waves, and I felt like I had no energy left by the time I did get past the breakers. I actually had a lifeguard swimming alongside me for several minutes making sure I was OK, I think mostly because I was screaming obscenities at the mighty Pacific Ocean. He even asked if I wanted to "opt out" a couple of times. Eventually, I actually swam a few strokes but for the most part I was doing a sidestroke. The goal quickly went from "finish fast" to "just finish," which I did. Eventually. The Pacific definitely made me its bitch.
What would you do differently?:

More (as in, more than none) open ocean training swims
Transition 1
  • 06m 17s
Comments:

I was just glad to be alive and breathing at this point, so I wasn't all that concerned with a fast transition.
Bike