General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training for multiple events Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-08-29 8:01 PM

User image

New user

Yoho, New Brunswick
Subject: Training for multiple events
Hi,

I'm a newbie training for my first season of triathlon / duathlons and would like to know how I should approach my training schedule if I am planning on competing in several events (sprints for the next few months and hopefully a couple of olympic distance events in January / February (I'm in Australia for those North Americans wondering about competing in winter Smile).

Should I begin a plan based on the olympic distance and use the sprints as "training" and not modify my training plans too much? And should I take a few days off after each event to let my body recover?

Any advice would be good advice to me!

Thanks! 
Leon

2010-08-29 9:28 PM
in reply to: #3070259

User image

Expert
MI
Subject: RE: Training for multiple events
Hi.  This is my first year of triathlons as well.  My "end" goal is a HIM which is in a few weeks.  Basically from May to August I did one sprint a month- which by the way, I don't regret one bit, each one was a learning experience!  I would use the Olympic training plan as a guide and modify slightly around your sprints.  Give yourself 2-3 days of light training before, maybe take a day off or so following.  Yes, your training for the Olympic may be slightly interrupted, but hey, you're still new, so I don't think extra rest would really be a bad thing! Better safe than sorry, you don't want to end up injured.  If you can, I would work it so the recovery weeks fall the week leading up to your sprints (assuming your plan has recovery weeks).  This is what I may consider doing.
2010-08-30 8:17 AM

User image

Veteran

Get a hold of the book "The Triathletes Training Bible"  By Joe Friel.  There is a large section devoted to planning a training schedule that fits your needs.  The book is well worth the purchase.