Three Rivers Road Runners
76F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 5h 59m 22s
Overall Rank = 34/55
Age Group = 40-44
Age Group Rank = 1/3
Pre-race routine:

My LUNA Chix teammate Janet and I left midday on Friday to head over the pass to the Tri-Cities, making sure to stop along the way for lunch, coffee, and perhaps a root beer float….eventually ending up at her dad’s house in Kennewick where we were treated like queens--cheese and fruit plate awaiting our arrival--then we went to the packet pickup/pasta feed at the Shilo Inn in Richland. The swag was great--really neat long-sleeved tech tees, (black, yay!) and knit hats with the Plutonium Man logo on them, bags…the food was just ok, but that was ok, we weren’t really hungry due to nerves. Eventually the race director gave a speech about the race course and the process of having multiple transition areas plus different start and finish lines. We’d see four locations before the race was done, and all 3 cities (I think--I am not good at differentiating which city we were in at any given time during the race). Then we went back to the house and packed up all of our race bags, filled our water bottles, double and triple checked our list. I took 2 advil PMs and washed it down with Nuun. Slept ok, but woke up at 5....eventually got up and ate (banana, 1/2 bagel with peanut butter, 2 cups of coffee) and got ready to go.
Event warmup:

We had to go drop our bikes, bike gear and our run bags off at T1. I made sure to get my bike into the right gear, started the Garmin on multisport, and again, rechecked the run bag to make sure everything I might need was in there. We then drove to the Swim start, got our timing chips and body markings....hung out for some photos and finally got our wetsuits on and got into the Columbia River for the start!!
Swim
  • 35m 9s
  • 2000 meters
  • 01m 45s / 100 meters
Comments: