General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Off-season Motivation Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-10-01 8:29 AM
in reply to: #3123663

Regular
Babylon
Subject: RE: Off-season Motivation
What I tell me guys.  Go on to Facebook, twitter, etc, etc and post your planned workout for the day.  Then you will feel like you need to complete it or you will get ribbed.

Make it fun in the off-season.  This is the time to work on the limiters and make those huge gains. 

2010-10-01 9:17 AM
in reply to: #3124405

User image

Extreme Veteran
Lewisville
rventuri - 2010-09-29 2:16 PM The number of posts on this subject amaze me. Do most people just train to race and not to remain healthy, fit and active year round. I guess I am just more motivated by staying at a healthy weight, keeping my cardiovascular system in shape and not being lazy then by training for something that is just a hobby. If I was a professional triathlete or cyclist, I could see taking an extended amount of time off since training to race is basically their job and they are training 25+ hours per week. But for the 99.9% of those who peruse this site, I would think allowing your weight and fitness to slip significantly during the triathlon off-season and then pretty much starting from scratch in the spring isn't very healthy at all ... akin to yoyo dieting which has proven to be very detrimental to one's health. Just sayin.

Before I started doing tris 5 years ago I tried to get motivated just for the health of it. However, for me I need to have an event/race to train for. Without having something on the calendar, I just start to slip back into laziness. I really enjoy the health benefits of tris and endurance events- healthy weight, feel better emotionally, etc. But 90% of my motivation is the race.

Edited by Jazon71 2010-10-01 9:44 AM
2010-10-01 9:19 AM
in reply to: #3127883

User image

Veteran

Jazon71 - 2010-10-01 10:17 AM