General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Injury advice/Prevent me from killing people Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-20 5:06 PM

Veteran
Subject: Injury advice/Prevent me from killing people
Hi, so I blew out my knee a month ago (same week I bought my new Felt! Damn) and haven't been able to train much, with the exception of a few painful half hour rides. I have a reconstruction scheduled for Dec. 17. I've been flat out mean (woops) since I've been inactive. I can't run or bike and I can't afford a pool membership (hopefully by mid November) as I'm a poor college student. No pool at my school, local high schools don't allow public swim, and the other school (Brown) that is free for us only has lap time during class. 

I'm in need of any and all ideas until I can get into a pool. Thanks!

p.s. Sorry I'm grumpy. 

Edited by SammyKarch 2010-10-20 5:23 PM

2010-10-20 5:47 PM
in reply to: #3163586

User image

Expert
Maui, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Injury advice/Prevent me from killing people
Sorry to hear about your knee!  Hope your surgery goes well and you heal quickly.

In the meantime, this is what I'm doing while my foot fracture heals:

-Core and upper body workouts (I don't know what will strain your knee, you have to be creative): sit on the floor with a resistance band (seated rows) for shoulders/back; stand on your good foot with the band under for biceps; plus you can do a lot of core work sitting on a Bosu, even if you need to keep your leg straight (I do mine with my air cast on); floor work - supermans/swimmers (again, watch the knee).  Outside of the bosu, the bands are inexpensive.  Toss a 6-8lb medicine ball with a friend.

-Read:  I'm reading up on nutrition, devouring triathlete magazine, plus a few trashy beach reads.  When I'm training I do not have very much free time in my schedule and I'm too tired at night.