General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do weight session or extra bike session in season? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-27 12:52 PM

Subject: Do weight session or extra bike session in season?
Am curious everyone's thoughts on weight training in season (newbie here, so I'm sure this has been discussed numerous times before) and am curious on various opinions.  I mainly want to focus on getting fast in sprint/oly's - and in season I am thinking of going 4 bikes, 4 runs, and 2 swims with maybe 1 20-30 minute maintenance weight session (core work, body weight exercises) - or even dropping it all together for the 3 or 4 months leading up to my main race.  I'm doing strength and core work 2x per week this offseason...

This past season (first season) I lifted twice a week, and did 3 bikes and 3 runs and can't help but wonder if my time would have been better served doing 1 or 2 extra bike/run sessions.

2010-10-27 12:53 PM
in reply to: #3175838

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: Do weight session or extra bike session in season?
If your goal is to be faster in a triathlon, I would vote for an extra bike (or run or swim) session.

Shane
2010-10-27 12:55 PM

User image

Elite
Spring, TX
If your focus is getting faster in triathlon, then the extra bike session wins out easily over lifting weights.  'Strength' is a tricky word, because you can do strength training on your bike or when you're running by doing hills or high resistance, etc.

2010-10-27 1:03 PM

User image

Where's the popcorn?

Weight training is one of the contention points around endurance types.

There are those who demand it's required and there are those who have never done a day of lifting.
2010-10-27 1:12 PM

User image

Pro
CyFair
we really gonna have this argument again today?
2010-10-27 2:30 PM

User image

Veteran
Indianapolis
If you have time to do weights then you ain't s/b/r enough.

2010-10-27 2:35 PM

User image

Payson, AZ