General Discussion Triathlon Talk » El Tour de Tucson Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-11-05 10:56 AM

Regular
Subject: El Tour de Tucson

I am riding El Tour de Tucson for the first time this year.  Will be lining up in the Gold section and hoping to be close enough to hold the wheels of the Platinuim group.  Curious who is riding this year and what tips you have for a sucessful El Tour ride.

2010-11-05 12:31 PM
in reply to: #3196920

User image

Master
Sedona, AZ
Subject: RE: El Tour de Tucson
I'll be there, but it's my first time too. What's the 'gold' section, 'platinum' section, etc.? How do you know where and when to line up?

I'm doing the 107 miler, my wife is doing the 40. Should be a good time!
2010-11-05 1:30 PM
in reply to: #3197206

Regular
The Platnium riders are individuals who are either pro cyclists or have completed a perimeter bicycling event under some specified time.  For El Tour Platnium is under 5 hours.  If you finish under 5, you get a card that gets you lined up in front of the field.  The idea is to get the fast guys in the front so the casual riders don't get plowed over in the first few miles.  The other sections.. gold, silver and bronze are areas where you self select.  If you think you can finish under 6 then you should line up in the gold group which is right behind the platnium riders.  The strategy to finish under 5 is to get there early (4:30am) and line up at the front of the gold group and start fast and hope to catch the lead pack or at least a fast platnium paced pack.

I raced El tour de Phoenix and missed the platnium time by 15 minutes... mostly because I showed up late and started way back in the silver coral.  By the time I rolled out onto the course the fast guys were miles ahead and gone.
2010-11-05 4:22 PM
in reply to: #3197399

User image

Master
Sedona, AZ