General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Austin Folks - Jack and Adams vs. Austin Tricyclist Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-11-09 6:34 PM

Subject: Austin Folks - Jack and Adams vs. Austin Tricyclist
I have been a pretty loyal J&A customer because I feel like they have better customer service and aren't as snooty. They are more welcoming to the beginner.  AT has a better clothing selection and rents wetsuits so I do go in there from time to time and if Missy is there I think I get pretty good service.  Lately there have been some new hires at J&A that have acted pretty pompous too.  

The fact is, I just don't know a lot cycling and bikes, it is all new to me (about 18 months).  I am aware that I am a complete novice, but I don't like being made to feel stupid.  At the end of the day though, I want the best bike at the best price with the best fit. 

In the next few months I am going to be researching new tri bikes.  I just completed my first HIM on my Felt 7100 with clip on aerobars and it is time for an upgrade.  I went to AT today and it was made pretty clear that they don't think J&A does a good fit, the guys there don't compete, etc..  I was also told I am on a bike that is too small. I have to say I have felt a little crowded lately on my bike since I started upping the miles.

Anyway, my question is...at the end of the day, which shop do you think I will get the best bike and best fit?  If I am going to spend $2-3K on a bike I can take a little snobbery if the person is truly an expert.  I am not interested in buying online or at chain shops.  I like to shop local.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

2010-11-09 6:59 PM
in reply to: #3203694

User image

Regular
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Austin Folks - Jack and Adams vs. Austin Tricyclist