General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginners Swim difficulties rant Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-11-18 10:02 AM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Beginners Swim difficulties rant
I'm an absolute newbie to the tri world, and am really having difficulty with the swim portion. I've been able to gradually build my run endurance, bike has never been a problem, but the swim training kicks my butt regardless. Just started swimming 4-6 weeks ago with no swimming skills/technique, other than I could swim to save my life, and that's about it. Initally I could only do 50y or so at a shot, but can now do 125-150y, but after the first set, i'm only good for 50's. I've picked up and read the TI book, watched the TI videos, but I still find it to be quite challenging as I dont have any swim buddies like i do for cycling. I've signed up for lessons in january @ new paltz swim studio (TI instructor michael trunkes) and am really hoping that he can help me make significant progress, as i'm shooting for 4 sprints in may/june/july and an olympic in august (nautica nyc).  Am I crazy for having signed up for an olympic without ever having done a sprint? I dont know what it is about the swim, other than I know that I am just fighting the water....average HR on the bike for 50-60 mile ride is 150 or so. I can sustain ~4 miles jogging with HR @ 165 or so. After even a 50y in the pool, my HR is only ~140, but it feels as if its going closer to 180 or so, as my HR is so strong, I could measure it by counting the throbs in the back of my head. is it normal for the swim to "feel" so much more challenging to the body?

2010-11-18 10:07 AM
in reply to: #3216499

User image

Veteran
Newcastle, England
Subject: RE: Beginners Swim difficulties rant

Slow things down .. you get faster initialy by swimming slower, focus on form, position in the water and balance

Do Drills

If you can book (even a couple) 1-2-1s with a coach, it is money well spent and not that expensive