Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Ideas for mentoring younger kids Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2010-11-30 1:49 PM

User image

Expert
Longview, TX
Subject: Ideas for mentoring younger kids
I have volunteered to be a mentor at a local elementary school on the ummm, wrong side of the railroad tracks so to speak. I will be working with three fourth grade girls. The teacher has assigned me to work with them due to their poor attitudes. She said they, well two of them, are actually quite smart and that's where the problems come in, smarts and attitude get them into LOTS of trouble. I will be meeting with them once a week for lunch and a little bit of their school work time, and of course will be there for Christmas/Valentine parties, etc.

So, my question is, what are some ways to get these girls engaged in conversation, or activities that I can do with them. I am a civil engineer and do not have any kids of my own yet so this is quite foreign territory for me, but something that I definitely want to help with in any way possible. These poor kids come from government housing, no parents or bad parents, etc. The teacher told me that one of the girls often takes 'extended' weekends because her mom doesn't care about bringing her to school. Anyway, just trying to think of ways to befriend these girls so that I can establish trust and respect and have some type of positive influence on them.

I was told that I can bring them 'treat's but should not do this every week/often, but use it more as a reward type situation such as for good behavior so any ideas on what might be a good treat as well. The teacher mentioned things like a candy bar or even book marks and pencils or a big treat might be bringing them lunch one day. However, like the teacher said, I don't want to be someone that they just 'get stuff' from.

2010-11-30 1:59 PM
in reply to: #3230793

User image

Pro
the Alabama part of Pennsylvania