Other Resources My Cup of Joe » What makes your LBS tops? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-12 11:17 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Tucson, AZ
Subject: What makes your LBS tops?

Ever wonder what it would be like to walk into your LBS and find EVERYTHING you were looking for?  I am seriously pondering opening a LBS in my little section of the world.  It has been a long time since I have been involved specifically with triathlon but I have never left cycling.  In fact I am currently an assistant manager at my local corporate bike shop that is why I'm posting here!

I'm looking for suggestions as to what serious cyclists and beginners alike would want to find in their LBS.  I want it to be welcoming to the newbie and hardcore enough for the guy/gal with TriFlow in their veins.  My wife and I have looked at several shops with combos like a coffee/bike or sports-bar/bike, but we wonder what you consider essential and also wonder what are the little extras that draw you in and keep you coming back?  What amenities keep you returning to your LBS?

Thanks for the input!

2010-12-13 6:07 AM
in reply to: #3246230

User image

Regular
Essex, England
Subject: RE: What makes your LBS tops?

My LBS has a small coffee bar and has tables outside as well but its not that which keeps me loyal. The owner is an ex-pro rider and also built bikes for a pro team as a Bianchi dealer.
He knows everything about bikes, will fix them at short notice and is extremely good value for servicing etc. I have moved 20 miles away from his shop but still always go to him

2010-12-13 6:25 AM
in reply to: #3246290

User image

Champion
NOVA - Ironic for an Endurance Athlete