X-Tri Australia
23F / -5C
Sunny
Total Time = 5h 09m 4s
Overall Rank = 569/960
Age Group = F45-49
Age Group Rank = 5/19
Pre-race routine:

Now customary to sleep as little as possible....not by choice.
Wake excessively early and eat....
toast/jam/juice/coffee
Arrived at transition early (for once) and felt very relaxed....amazing how
taking a swim leg out of a triathlon can do that!
Event warmup:

stretched to prepare for first run leg.
Multiple sprints to port a loo and various bushes.
Swim
  • 18m 45s
  • 4000 meters
  • 28s / 100 meters
Comments:

I've never done a duathlon before: wasnt too sure of the strategy...ie how hard to run the first leg....I didnt want to start behind the pack nor did I want to start with hammered legs and an out of control heart rate.
Opted for a middling version. Ran comfortably - to a point where I felt competitive but knew I was holding back.

What would you do differently?:

nothing i think I had the correct approach
Transition 1
  • 00m
Comments:

Hey! no wetsuit! quick enough transition but how quick I do not know as
the event timing system accumulated T1 and T2 times on to the bike leg.
Ran past my bike and had to double back. How does that even happen?

Find better marker to locate my bike quicker....shouldnt have been hard....
Bike
  • 2h 45m 18s
  • 87 kms
  • 31.58 km/hr
Comments:

First lap felt hard after the 4k run but each lap got quicker and got on the attack in a big way by lap 5....was passing heaps of blokes at this stage....felt like I could keep going. Felt great.
BUT - as you can imagine 1000 competitors on a 5 lap course - well that only can lead to one thing: yes of course - drafting!!