General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Giant OCR2 question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-01-02 7:38 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Giant OCR2 question
Hey guys I need your road bike expertise.  So i'm brand new to triathlons and so there for brand new to the gear.  I've been looking for a starter road bike to train on but yet to find anything cheaper.  I came across a Giant OCR2 today on craigslist for $400 and I talked the guy down to $350.  He states its in great condittion and barely ridden..yadayadaydad.  I'm of course gonna go look at it and test ride it but just talking to him, i'm 5'4 and he's 5'10.  He says that he thinks the frame size is a medium which on the giants site is for 5'6 and up.  Do you think I can get away with this or is there anyway a bike shop can resize this for me?  This is the first descent deal i've come across and would hate to pass it up if I could make it work.  thanx for you help

2011-01-02 8:28 PM
in reply to: #3273096

User image

Veteran
North Carolina
Subject: RE: Giant OCR2 question
Fit is ultimately important to cycling efficiency . I would tell you to keep your eyes peeled for a decent entry level road bike closer to your size . A med frame Giant is too big .  I know it's hard to be patient, but trust me, you will not bee happy with a road bike that doesn't fit . Best of luck .
                                                            Marc,
2011-01-02 9:44 PM

User image

Veteran
Winter Park, Florida
I'm 6'-0" and I used an OCR3 for the first year and a half of my tri beginnings.  It was a medium as well and it fit me perfect.  I agree with the last post that you may be pretty stretched out on a medium but if you have the chance to test it that would provide you with the ultimate info needed to make a decision.

I had tri bars set on my drop handlebars and when I went into the aero position I was very stretched out so bare that in mind if you wanted to get an aero setup at some point.