General Discussion Triathlon Talk » "Locked rib" Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-03-11 8:46 AM

User image

Champion
NOVA - Ironic for an Endurance Athlete
Subject: "Locked rib"

My back has an annoying pain when I sit.  Chiro said that it is a locked rib.

The only training that feels ok is running.

Any thoughts from BT?

2011-03-11 2:50 PM
in reply to: #3393450

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: "Locked rib"
I'm no expert on anatomy, but the ribs don't have joints that allow for movement, so ALL of your ribs are essentially "locked."
2011-03-11 4:09 PM
in reply to: #3394199

User image

Pro
Melbourne FL
Gold member

MikeTheBear - 2011-03-11 3:50 PM I'm no expert on anatomy, but the ribs don't have joints that allow for movement, so ALL of your ribs are essentially "locked."

Since my ski accident in 03 I've had issues with my lower neck-shoulder area and ever so often I'll have issues with taking deep breaths/sitting.  My chiro would also say something about locked ribs (BTW I broke 4 ribs).

Well according to this site there are three "joints" where the rib attach to the spine (2) and at the Sternum.

Lot of info pops up on search of "locked rib", ever this thread already!

2011-03-11 5:23 PM

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Disclaimer: I am biased against chiropractic and find that it is not supported by scientific evidence, so anyone who likes chiropractic may become offended at my comments.

Let's look at real anatomy. The Wikipedia entry mentions nothing about "rib joints."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_rib_cage