General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When will the cravings stop? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-03-16 2:52 PM

User image

Veteran
Lewisville, nc
Subject: When will the cravings stop?
Jeez, I want a chili-dog!

I've been dabbling in Tri's for a few years now. Up until recently though, I've continued to give in to my very poor eating habits. I started the year at 226 lbs, and the day after the Super Bowl, decided to become a permanent resident of 'fit-camp', relocating from my present address at fat camp of almost 37 years. I'm now down to about 214.

Things couldn't be going better honestly. I've been losing weight steadily since then - anywhere from 1.6 - 2lbs each week. Every Saturday morning, I'm thrilled with what the scale says. I've been very consistent with exercise. I've been VERY careful with my diet. I keep track of exactly what goes in (eating very healthy), and as close as I can to what comes out (calories). I've been feeling great, both general health-wise, and even better so, the way I feel about myself. I've been sleeping better, AND had a ton more energy.

So what's the problem then you ask? DANG IT, I WANT SOME $%@#$% NACHO'S!! I want some wings... and some beer! I want a freakin' cookie!

If you're thinking "you need a cheat day"... well, I have that. On the weekends, I loosen the dietary constraints a little. I do eat some things that I know don't help too much, but I figure it's probably good overall. I keep hoping that this will satisfy that itch that I just can't scratch and keep me from wanting those foods all the time.

Is it doing just the opposite?