General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility.
OptionResults
Triathlon coaching in the U.S. needs more formal educational requirements.
Triathlon coaching has enough regulation now through USAT.
I'm a coach.
Coaches in the U.S. have dubious qualifications to coach athletes.
The "open-ness" of the coaching system in the U.S. is good.
Most traithlon coaches are credible and valid as coaches.
Most triathlon coaches in the US have questionable credibility as coaches.
US coaching has no formal curriculae, and therefore no credibility.
The lack of improvement in average U.S. AG'ers proves our system is broken.
The success of U.S. AG'ers proves our system works.
It's not that hard to be a coach- what's the big deal?
Any person who dispenses advice for compensation should be accredited.
This is a multiple choice poll.

2011-04-06 3:08 PM
in reply to: #3432616

User image

Champion
MA
Subject: RE: The Coaching "Crisis": Your Opinions on US "coach" credibility.

Buyer beware for coaching is great, but how do folks find out who is a good or bad coach? Especially when they new to the sport and don't really have friends or contacts that are knowledgeable.The more you know easier it is to pick a coach as you can ask informed questions and determine if their answers make sense and line up with what you know.

The trend seems to be, I've been a triathlete few years and I'm fast, so I'll go to USAT cert become a coach to off set my tri habit and make some money. Not all the new coaches are fast, but if they are and if they are FOP more folks want to be like them so they hire them as a coach. They may just be gifted and have no substantial knowledge of training and don't really coach folks but make plans for folks sometimes good sometimes not. Some type of mentoring system would be a great start for USAT.