BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Newbz' group, Winter is finally over, right? FULL! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 14

2011-04-08 10:13 AM

User image

Champion
Subject: Newbz' group, Winter is finally over, right? FULL!
WHO THIS GROUP IS FOR: ANYONE! New, experienced, old, young, guy, girl, you are all welcomed here. If you need running help that will be a bit of a focus this go round.

WHEN CAN YOU START MENTORING CONSISTENTLY: I can start today!

NAME: Newbz/David

STORY: Me in a nutshell, or, more accurately, me the nut. I started racing triathlons 5 years ago after a serious back injury knocked me out of rowing. I had a bit of carryover fitness from rowing that helped in triathlons, but i was a slow as snot swimmer and runner, and it's taken a LOT of hard work to improve. After 3 years of just sort of messing around I started training in a much smarter manner and took the time to really start learning about what it takes to train effectively and injury free. I used this as a base to start a coaching buissness and so far the training principles have shown great improvement to both myself and my athletes.

Outside of triathlon I split my working time between my triathlon coaching, working as a freelance photographer, and a rowing coach.

When not racing/working, you'll most often find me in the kitchen cooking our out exploring the rivers and streams around the area i live (philadelphia PA) in search of big fish in small places.

FAMILY STATUS: It's just me right now. I live with my brother who is 18mo younger than me.

CURRENT TRAINING: I'm currently biking a LOT, and will be adding the run back in as soon as I can (dropped something on it at work and it's taken me out for almost 3 weeks right now). I'm focusing on duathlons/cycling//running this year due to some past shoulder injuries.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: To date i've raced 4 times so far this year, all running.