General Discussion Race Reports! » Honolulu Triathlon - Sprint Course Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Honolulu Triathlon - Sprint Course - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Honolulu, Hawaii
United States
Honolulu Triathlon
82F / 28C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 36m 44s
Overall Rank = 90/196
Age Group = 55-59
Age Group Rank = 4/7
Pre-race routine:

As a NEWBIE I don't really have a "routine" yet. However, I did use a checklist to pack my stuff the day before.

Interestingly enough, this event is actually scheduled as a practice race as part of my "Beginners Triathlon Training" group. It is only 4 weeks into our training and, quite frankly, we have not really run 5k, swam 750 meters or biked 20k in any one of our training sessions up to this point. We are being trained to race the Tin Man triathlon in July. Only about 7 or 8 of us from our group decided to go ahead and do the race. The rest of our group opted to do alternate training.

We had to pick up our packets and check our bikes in on Saturday, the day before the event. I got up at 3am on Sunday which was tough because I had to attend a fund raiser at my son's school Saturday evening (a food festival).

Anyway, I got to the transition area shortly after 4am. I set up my transition (thank God for YouTube videos) and talked to some friends from my "Beginners Triathlon Training" group.

They closed the transition area at 5:30am. The sprint event was not scheduled to hit the water until 7:30am so the folks from my group hung out an chatted until start time.

I had a fig newton and some water.

Event warmup:

Jacked my jaws with some friends.
Swim
  • 19m 41s
  • 820 yards
  • 02m 24s / 100 yards
Comments: