General Discussion Triathlon Talk » High Altitude Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-23 7:20 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
South Lake Tahoe, Ca.
Subject: High Altitude Training

I was hoping to get some input on high altitude training.

This is my first year of triathlons and have now lived at 6300' for the last year. I have done some reading on altitude training and find a very mixed view on its benefits.

My first tri is in Aug. here in Tahoe, but I plan on two more tri's in Sept. & Oct. and they are at or near sea level. I am training at elevations between 6200' - 7000'. I'm hoping to get some input from people on the benefits and/or downside of this kind of training. Is there really that big of a difference?

Thanks.

2011-05-23 7:26 PM
in reply to: #3514784

Extreme Veteran
Charlotte,NC
Subject: RE: High Altitude Training
You are lucky to live and train at high altitude in such a beautiful area. As far as I know there are no downsides of training at altitude and racing at sea level.There is an upside: You have more red blood cells than somebody with similar abilities who is living at sea level thus allowing you carry more oxygen to your body. However if you will be racing in hot and humid environment beware, it might take a lot out of you.
Good Luck
2011-05-23 7:33 PM

User image

Pro
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
I recently read an article about a study on this. I think it may have been in Lava, or it could have been The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research. The short version was that benefits are only realized by athletes living high, and training low. They gave specific elevations to use as minimums and maximums, but I can't remember the numbers. I'll try to see if I still have the magazine. Basically, training low (where more oxygen is available) allows the hard efforts necessary to see bigger gains, and living high causes your body to produce more red blood cells.
2011-05-23 9:30 PM
in reply to: #3514796

User image