General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Race Photo-- software Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-06 1:23 PM

User image

Champion
the colony texas
Subject: Race Photo-- software

Ok how do the race photo companies do it.   the part where you just plug in your name or bib number and presto all the photos of you that were taken magically pop up..

Is it a custom program that each company writes, or is there a software that can be purchased to do that

anyone know?

2011-06-06 2:49 PM
in reply to: #3535146

User image

Elite
Minnetonka
Subject: RE: Race Photo-- software

I've often wondered that.  I am a photographer All I know is that every image has a unique identifier.  They could easily have a search engine that pulls your bib number or name (Or whatever unique tags they assign to each image).  The problem is, they have to name or tag every image.

Good question.  I'll be checking back for the answer...

2011-06-06 3:38 PM

User image

Pro
Omaha, NE
I have this vision in my head of underpaid overseas workers looking at every picture and tagging it with a bib number.  lol
2011-06-06 3:38 PM
in reply to: #3535371

Master
, California

I'm pretty sure most use some sort of OCR software to search for numbers in the photos, and then add that info to their race database.  I've seen cases where multiple people were in the photo and you could find that same photo searching on any one of their numbers.

For something like a big marathon, it has to be automated as much as possible.

2011-06-06 3:39 PM
in reply to: #3535517

Master
, California

tuwood - 2011-06-06 1:38 PM I have this vision in my head of underpaid overseas workers looking at every picture and tagging it with a bib number.  lol

Somehow this wouldn't surprise me Undecided

Edit: the toughest thing for software to pick up would be the handwritten numbers on swim caps.  I could see that requiring some people.

Edited by spudone 2011-06-06 3:40 PM
2011-06-06 3:48 PM

User image

Pro