General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hopefully a little bit of motivation... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-15 10:55 AM

Subject: Hopefully a little bit of motivation...

Yesterday I accomplished something that has not happened in 11 years since I was a senior in High School; I dropped below 170lbs.  I know your thinking, so what, but let me tell you a little story:

About 3.5 years ago I found myself in a bad place without even realizing it.  I was experiencing first hand a slow steady death, one that was unavoidable.  In High School I was a 3 sport varsity athlete from freshman year playing major roles in soccer, basketball, and track.  In my Sophmore year I went to the state finals for the mile and 800.  When I graduated HS I weighed 155 pounds, and was in incredible shape, running about 8-12 miles per day.  I got engaged to my HS sweetheart right away and it all went down hill from there.  Three years later I dropped out of college because I needed to "find myself".  I decided at that time my life ambition would be to work in the parts department of a Toyota dealership, :/ At this time I had become very overweight; 254 lbs to be exact.  In three years I had managed to gain 100 lbs.  In November of 2007 my HS sweetheart fiance left me, and rightfully so.  I was an overweight, lazy scrub with no education and no ambition, and that wasnt me. 

So I turned my life around.  I was too big to run so I started with cycling.  Originally I had a weightloss goal of 50lbs, and when the trainer at a local gym laughed at me I told him F you i'll break below 200.  And so began my recovery.

Now here we are in 2011 and as of yesterday I am at 169.3 lbs and getting ready for my first triathlon.  In the years past I spent a lot of time on myself, getting healthy both physically and emotionally.  I am happy to say that I am also getting married next June to my true soulmate.